Canon camera test/review database

Index

NEW AND BETTER ARTICLE INDEX AT CANON INDEX
(It is only the new index that will be updated. It doesn't have the ranking yet, but is better and more up-to-date)

Canon 5D Mark III

Image quality rating: 91,08%

Overall rating: 86,83%

Main points:
  • High usable dynamic range
  • Very good AF system
  • Only 22 MP image pixels


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Better Family Photos
'Now that I finally got this out of my system, it's time to start talking about the 5D Mark III, it is a phenomenal cameras, soul-less (until now, that is) but phenomenal. It is similar to the McLaren MP4-12C, a brilliant car, but reviewers say that it's like a fax machine, no soul, unlike the Ferrari 458 Italia for exapmle, but the 5D Mark II is no 458 Italia, maybe it's an F355. Below are a few more examples taken with the 5D Mark II before it got sold.'
Camera Stuff Review
8.9/10
'The Canon 5D MK3 has become a worthy successor to the Canon 5D MK2. The number of pixels is barely increased so that the maximum resolution at low ISO values has not become higher. From ISO 6400, the resolution decreases more strongly at the Canon 5D MK2 than the Canon 5D MK3. The noise performances of the Canon 5D MK3 are better, the profit is between 1 and 2 stops, depending on RAW or JPEG. A major advancement, about 2 stops at ISO 100, is made in the usable dynamic range. In addition, the camera body is greatly improved. The frame rate is increased and the grip is improved. The AF system meets high expectations and makes the Canon 5D MK2 bite deeply in the dust. The enhanced video capabilities of the Canon 5D MK3 compared to its predecessor will also appeal to many photographers. After familiarization, it is a pleasure to work with the 61 AF sensors, the AF speed is high and fast moving objects are properly followed. The cheaper Nikon D800 / Nikon D800E do have many more pixels. But if 22 megapixels are enough for your type of photography, there is little to criticize on the Canon 5D MK3.'
Photography Life
4.5/5
4.5/5
'When Canon introduced the highly anticipated 5D Mark III to the market, the photography community and many Canon fans felt underwhelmed by its specifications, especially after the big shock wave left by the Nikon D800. For the first time, it felt like Canon and Nikon reversed their game – instead of focusing on more megapixels like it has been doing for many years now, Canon decided to keep the resolution of the camera about the same at 22.3 MP (versus 21.1 MP on the 5D Mark II) and concentrate on other important features such as low-light performance, camera build, ergonomics, AF system, ease of use and speed. It seemed like Canon finally listened to its customers and designed a much better overall camera, so how did the 5D Mark III manage to disappoint so many photographers? A big part of the reason was high expectations for sensor performance. The world wanted a much better sensor from Canon, not something similar to a 3 year old model. Yes, the 5D Mark III did gain 2 more stops of native ISO sensitivity, but detailed ISO performance comparisons revealed a different picture – there is actually a maximum of one full stop of difference between the two sensors. Hence, the new 5D Mark III only got marginally improved in image quality…'
ePhotozine
4.5/5
4.5/5
'The Canon EOS 5D Mark III is an excellent camera, capable of taking stunning photos in a wide variety of situations and has a wealth of lenses available to go with it. The 5D Mark III may not be as ground-breaking as the 5D Mark II, but this is simply because the Mark II was so good, and where the Mark III has been improved is noticeable. It has a number of very welcome (and some would say needed) updates, importantly to focus points, speed, continuous shooting, HDR, improved processing, ISO performance and an extended range, as well as a high resolution 3.2inch screen. '
WEXblog
9.5/10
8.5/10
'Generally, I think this one of the best cameras I’ve shot with.  It’s certainly a key part of my wedding day equipment.  The 5D3 shares a lot of functionality with Canon’s flagship 1DX, especially in terms of the AF system and that has to be applauded.  The camera is almost perfect for wedding, portrait or social photographers.  With its amazing high-ISO capabilities, relatively small footprint, weather sealed body and dual cards this could be an award winning camera for many years to come.'
Better Family Photos
'One of the greatest benefits of my switch to full frame was the colors and skin tones, for some reason both the 5D Mark II and Mark III gave me better skin tones and colors than I was able to get from the 550D or the 60D. They have more tolerance and are more forgiving with mixtures of different light sources.'
Photoreview
9.25/10
9/10
'Given the success of its predecessor, the 5D III enters the market with an advantage, which it builds on by adding features that are genuinely useful to photographers as well as radically improving existing functions. Once you've used it for a while, these improvements fuel a real desire to make it your own.'
Camera Labs
18/20
16/20
'The Canon EOS 5D Mark III is a very satisfying all-round DSLR. It feels tough, handles quickly and delivers great-looking photos and video. Canon has pretty much addressed all the complaints of the Mark II and also included all the nice extras commonly offered by Nikon, like 100% viewfinder coverage, twin card slots, deep bracketing and an AF system packed with points.'
Fredmiranda.com
9.6/10
'Simply put, the Canon EOS 5D Mark III is a superb camera in almost every regard. I've owned the Canon 20D, 50D, 5D, 5D Mark II, and 1D Mark III and I am very pleased with this particular camera; more so than the 5D Mark II.'
Dxomark
81/100
Chris Scuffins
'Very pleased. Even only after a short time, my new Canon has already completely wowed me, and already feels like a very natural fit to the way I shoot and edit. It has taken less time, money and hassle then I though switching brands would. I’m really not sure what all the fuss is about. Picking the right tool for the job is just good sense, regardless of who makes the camera or lenses. I am really looking foward tp pushing the Canon 5D MKIII to its limits in the coming month and years.'
Better Family Photos
'You were, technically, the best camera that I have ever used, but I was never able to feel any love from you, there was no relationship between us, not more than one between a human and a very clever robot that can do everything perfectly, all the time. I am not sad to see you go, I know I will not dearly miss you when I use any another camera (that place is uniquely reserved for my 5D Mark II), and I am probably not going to dream about owning you again.'
Dan Carr Photography
'These are really the main points to consider in this argument and it seems that Canon really tried to create a camera that doesn’t overlap the 5D MK3 too much.  The cost saving of the 6D is considerable though and I have to say that if I didn’t already have a5D MK3 as my backup I probably would have been content with getting the 6D and using the 1D for the fast sporty stuff.  I would love to have had GPS on my recent month long trip around Europe.  So to wrap it up generally, if you like to shoot things that move then skip the 6D.  If you don’t, or it’s not a big priority then consider the 6D and the other points I have made about it here.  I’m sure the image quality itself will be fantastic.'
Amateur Photographers
88/100
'It was always going to be a challenge to replace the EOS 5D Mark II. Thankfully, Canon has been sensible with its upgrade, choosing to focus on improving its weaker areas. So, while the resolution is largely unchanged in the 5D Mark III, the sensor's low-light and high-sensitivity performance is markedly better. However, for me, the greatest improvement is to the camera's AF system. The 5D Mark III focuses faster than its predecessor and has all the advanced settings one would expect from Canon's EOS-1D professional series of DSLRs.'


Canon 6D

Image quality rating: 91,00%

Overall rating: 75,00%

Main points:
  • Only 1/4000 shutter speed
  • Lack of a joystick


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Better Family Photos
'Now that I finally got this out of my system, it's time to start talking about the 5D Mark III, it is a phenomenal cameras, soul-less (until now, that is) but phenomenal. It is similar to the McLaren MP4-12C, a brilliant car, but reviewers say that it's like a fax machine, no soul, unlike the Ferrari 458 Italia for exapmle, but the 5D Mark II is no 458 Italia, maybe it's an F355. Below are a few more examples taken with the 5D Mark II before it got sold.'
Dxomark
82/100
Gizmodo
3/5
'In comparing still image quality, we found the 6D to produce nearly identical results as the 5D Mark III—that is to say, beautiful.'
Michael Stringer Photography
'Overall my impression is that it is a very capable and compact machine that takes excellent pictures quickly and stays out of my way. Makes a brilliant backup to a 5D Mark III for wedding photographers.'
Canon Rumors
'I’ve had the luxury of using some great cameras like the EOS-1D X and EOS 5D Mark III. However, after a little over a week with it, I must say that I’m very impressed.'
Canon Rumors
'The image quality is top notch, the color and dynamic range of the new 20mp sensor is quite good. '
Ken Rockwell
'The 6D is a smaller, lighter version of the world's best DSLR, the 5D Mark III. If money or weight matters, the 6D is better; the pictures will be the same from each of them.'
Photography Blog
5/5
4.5/5
'On paper the new Canon EOS 6D seems rather poorly specified compared to its main rival, the Nikon D600, and its big brother, the 5D Mark III, but in reality it proves to be a very capable DSLR that delivers outstanding pictures in both good and bad light.'
Dan Carr Photography
'These are really the main points to consider in this argument and it seems that Canon really tried to create a camera that doesn’t overlap the 5D MK3 too much.  The cost saving of the 6D is considerable though and I have to say that if I didn’t already have a5D MK3 as my backup I probably would have been content with getting the 6D and using the 1D for the fast sporty stuff.  I would love to have had GPS on my recent month long trip around Europe.  So to wrap it up generally, if you like to shoot things that move then skip the 6D.  If you don’t, or it’s not a big priority then consider the 6D and the other points I have made about it here.  I’m sure the image quality itself will be fantastic.'
Dan Carr Photography
'  But the AF points and shooting speed WILL make a difference to sports and wildlife people and I think in those situations if I was choosing I would go with the D600.  If I was shooting a little bit of everything with some travel and landscapes then the GPS feature would swing me the way of the Canon.'


Canon 1D X

Image quality rating: 89,00%

Overall rating: 95,00%

Main points:
  • Excellent ISO results
  • Super fast and super accurate focus in all conditions


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Photoreview
9.5/10
9/10
'Arguably, the EOS 1D X is Canon's most versatile camera to date and there are few situations in which it won't shine. Sports and wildlife photographers will relish the new AF system, high burst speeds and clean films at high sensitivity settings. (With a caveat to photographers who use extender lenses, as explained above.)'
Fredmiranda.com
10/10
'Before I had a 1D MkIV, which I really worked very well, but back to FF, with the quality of the series 1 has been a great pleasure, the 5D MkIII, has a great sensor, but lacks the reliability of the series 1.'
Dxomark
82/100
The Photographer
'I’m not going to give you the full answer to the original question of “Is it really worth the cash, if I were to stretch my budget and buy one?” in this First Impression. But what I can tell you is the Canon 1Dx has me seeing the limits of my Canon 7D even more. Mind you, I know what the Canon 7D is good at and where it lacks, but it is hard to go back after playing with Canon’s top of the line model. And I’m not one to lust after new gear because it is lustful. Stay tuned for the final review coming soon.'
Pop photo
'Photographers who are entrenched in either system, of course, should just trust the glass and accessories they’ve got, and upgrade to the new models as they see fit. But anyone looking to enter a system at this level will have a tough choice. If you’re a dedicated video shooter, you might pick the D4. If you feel you need faster bursts than 10 fps, then clearly the 1D X would be your gun. Otherwise, you might consult a flipping quarter—you’ll win, whatever side comes up.'
Amateur Photographers
90/100
'Cameras at this level have extremely high standards to live up to and the 1D X certainly meets them and in places even exceeds them. The new sensor is extremely impressive in terms of detail but more so in terms of its noise performance in low light. This is the finest Canon DSLR I have tested and though the difference may not be enough to tempt many Nikon users, it represents another step forward in the sports and action market. Despite the quality I'm not sure its resolution will hold the interest of many portrait or landscape photographers, with the 5D Mark III looking like a more practical solution and the Nikon D800 giving a blisteringly sharp 36-million-pixel output. However, if I had to choose just one camera to use for all types of photography, this would be it.'


Canon 5D Mark II

Image quality rating: 87,50%

Overall rating: 88,44%

Main points:
  • Very good picture quality
  • High resolution, low noise images.
  • Continuous shooting at ‘only’ 3.9fps. 


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Better Family Photos
'Now that I finally got this out of my system, it's time to start talking about the 5D Mark III, it is a phenomenal cameras, soul-less (until now, that is) but phenomenal. It is similar to the McLaren MP4-12C, a brilliant car, but reviewers say that it's like a fax machine, no soul, unlike the Ferrari 458 Italia for exapmle, but the 5D Mark II is no 458 Italia, maybe it's an F355. Below are a few more examples taken with the 5D Mark II before it got sold.'
Camera Stuff Review
8.5/10
'Even two years after its launch, the Canon 5D MK2 is still a very fine camera. Resolution, dynamic range, color reproduction and signal to noise ratio of this camera are all very good, even at today's standards. You'll achieve the best performance at ISO 50, though the quality differences with 100 ISO are minimal. For a full-frame camera, the Canon 5D MK2 has a compact and lightweight construction. The menu is userfriendly and the buttons are placed at the right positions. '
ePhotozine
4.5/5
4/5
'Canon have come under a lot of fire recently regarding the focus system, so it's good to see that it can focus sharply enough. It did have trouble with locking on and tended to hunt more than I found comfortable. Noise performance is great and shows that even with a high resolution it doesn't cause a problem. '
Photoreview
9.5/10
9.5/10
'You want a large-sensor DSLR that's capable of professional performance but has a smaller, lighter form factor than the professional cameras.'
Camera Labs
19/20
17/20
'The EOS 5D Mark II is one of Canon’s most powerful DSLRs to date, capable of delivering superb image quality with decent handling and all the latest bells and whistles. The movie mode is also an excellent addition, and while it’s not a practical replacement for a camcorder for most amateurs, the results can be spectacular and independent film makers will love it.'
Fredmiranda.com
9.3/10
'I loved my 5D. I love this more. It builds on the strengths of the old 5D. I have had the camera for a couple of months now and have taken the sharpest images I have ever done with it. The combination of the 5d II with the new canon macro lens is a killer. You can crop images heavily and still do A3 prints and images have the same feel as from the 5D. It is the first camera I have used that lets the "L" series lenses really shine. Focussing is not the best and this is all that stops me giving it a 10. HD video is a nice bonus. The camera also feels well made and handles nicely.'
Dxomark
79/100
Amateur Photographers
81/100
'The Canon EOS 5D Mark II is an extremely capable camera, but it lacks some of the refinements and customisation options of Nikon’s top-end models. The AF system, for example, is competent, 
but it isn’t as versatile as that of the lower-priced Nikon D700. '


Canon 600D / Rebel T3i

Image quality rating: 83,00%

Overall rating: 82,86%

Main points:
  • Tilt shivel LCD screen
  • User friendly, light camera


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Camera Stuff Review
7/10
'We started this test with the question why you would choose a Canon 600D. The answer is clear: The Canon 600D is a cheap, lightweight SLR with an image quality that is almost identical to the more expensive Canon SLRs. White balance and color accuracy are better than for many other cameras. Spend more money on a better lens instead of a more expensive camera body, you will have fun for years of your Canon 600D purchase.'
Ephotozine
5/5
4.5/5
'Feels good, looks good, takes stunning photos. What more could you want? Sure it would be nice if there was more warning about the battery giving up, and it would be nice if the continuous shooting mode was a little quicker, but these are minor niggles compared to a camera that delivers an excellent all round package, and offers good value for money as well. '
Photoreview
8.5/10
8.5/10
'Not surprisingly, the performance of the review camera was similar to that of the EOS 550D, although our Imatest evaluations showed the EOS 660D delivered slightly higher resolution overall with both JPEG and CR2.RAW files. High ISO resolution was somewhat better that we found in our tests of the EOS 550D, particularly with JPEG files. The graph below shows the results of our tests.'
Camera Labs
'The Canon EOS Rebel T3i / 600D and Nikon D5100 are two of the most popular DSLRs in the upper-entry-level category. Both deliver a step-up over the cheapest budget models, sporting a number of key improvements without breaking the bank or suffering from the size, weight and complexity of a mid-range or semi-pro body. No wonder each camera became a best-seller soon after launch.'
Camera Labs
19/20
16/20
'At first glance, the EOS 600D / T3i could simply be described as either a 550D / T2i with a flip-out-screen and wireless flash control, or a smaller, lighter and cheaper, but slower version of the 60D. But look closer and this assessment would be doing the latest EOS DSLR a disservice, as there's more differences between the three models than first appears.'
Dxomark
65/100
Amateur Photographers
83/100
'The Canon EOS 600D is more of a tweaked EOS 550D than a completely new model, and despite what Canon has said it is really a replacement for the older model. However, it should also be thought of as a cut-down version of the EOS 60D. When the new camera is looked upon in this light, it is certainly a very attractive proposition.'


Canon 550D / Rebel T2i

Image quality rating: 81,80%

Overall rating: 86,89%

Main points:
  • Although improved, AF during LiveView could still be better
  • Increased exposure compensation range


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Ephotozine
4/5
4/5
'Even at the guide price of £899, this camera is a worthy addition to the current Canon line-up, especially if it's the video features that may have caught your attention. If that applies to you, this camera offers virtually the same video main video features as the EOS 7D, but costs £800 less. With this camera, videographers interested in a HD movie equipped SLR are truly spoilt.'
Photoreview
8.5/10
8.5/10
'You want a lightweight, high-resolution DSLR camera that can record both still pictures and HD video clips.'
Camera Labs
19/20
17/20
'Canon's EOS 550D / Rebel T2i continues the company's tradition of filtering-down features from a higher-end model into a more affordable body. As such, the 550D / T2i enjoys the same high resolution photos and flexible movie modes of the 7D, not to mention its sophisticated metering system, and there's even a brand new 3:2 shaped screen which is a perfect fit for stills in playback or Live View.'
Fredmiranda.com
9.6/10
'Great camera, recently tested one purchased by a realtive. Sharper than 40d in raw. Af seemed fast and accurate. Kit lens was very sharp and a good one for this and other aps cameras. Very light and compact. Nice lcd. Iso goes to 12,800, although you will get some noise. Only gripes are 5 shot buffer (in raw, more in jpeg) and large file size, which is to be expected with 18 mp. This camera will probably be used for movies in Hollywood, video should be great! May be tough to get pro quality sound out of this and other dslr's, though. Also I don't think this has af in video, which could be difficult.'
Dxomark
66/100
Amateur Photographers
83/100
'Those who are concerned that the EOS 550D only has nine AF points rather than the 19 of the EOS 7D should remind themselves that a nine-point AF system has served enthusiast photographers very well in cameras such as the EOS 40D and EOS 50D, so there is no reason why it shouldn’t continue to do so.'


Canon 650D / Rebel T4i

Image quality rating: 81,20%

Overall rating: 86,00%

Main points:
  • Tilt shivel LCD screen
  • User friendly, light camera


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Camera Stuff Review
7/10
'The new sensor and image processor contribute to an even better image quality and Live View autofocus for video. The Canon 650D offers jpg files with higher resolution compared to earlier EOS models. The color accuracy in daylight equals the caolor accuracy of the Canon 7D or Canon 600D. In artificial light we found for the Canon 650D a relatively strong orange cast, both in RAW and jpg files. The somewhat limited dynamic range can be improved by the high tone priority. This results in less washed out highlights as well.'
ePhotozine
5/5
4.5/5
'Video is improved thanks to stereo sound and continuous AF, although this is still generally quite slow compared to mirrorless cameras, and the noise of the lens focussing is easily picked up by the internal microphones. In fact, the manual recommends the use of an external microphone if this is something you want to avoid. The touchscreen implementation is very good, being easy to use, quick and responsive, as well as allowing precise selection of options in the menus, and like the previous model, the high resolution 3 inch screen with 1040k dots looks excellent.'
ePhotozine
'This camera is ideal as an upgrade and for those who are looking for a high-end consumer level camera, and for those looking to get their foot into professional photography. Otherwise, the Canon EOS 550Dand 600D are still reputable cameras. '
Camera Labs
18/20
17/20
'The upper entry level DSLR market is a tough environment and companies have to be bold, but also cautious in order to succeed. Canon is a canny operator in this respect, maintaining a clear distinction between its budget, upper entry level and mid-range models. The risk in this approach is that competitors who don't operate under the same constraints can outmaneuvre you by providing features that you can't for fear of cannibalizing sales from your own line up. Canon's upper entry level models have come under increasing pressure of this kind not just from Sony's SLT range, but from the rapid inroads that mirrorless compact system cameras have made into DSLR sales.'
Dxomark
62/100
Amateur Photographers
84/100
'Canon sticks to a successful formula by using the same 18-million-pixel sensor and metering system as the EOS 7D and 60D, so the 650D performs as expected, which is good news for photographers. The addition of a touchscreen is a bonus and, alongside the buttons on the body, is an intuitive way to handle the camera. Navigating menus, viewing pictures and using touch AF and shutter are some of the 650D's highlights.'


Canon 50D

Image quality rating: 81,00%

Overall rating: 90,40%

Main points:
  • Good noise handling
  • Nice colour rendition


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
ePhotozine
4.5/5
4.5/5
'I've really enjoyed using the Canon EOS 50D. It's easy, fun, advanced and it's great to be able to see the pictures on the screen as nicely as a Nikon. I think the noise images are better than other reviews are reporting and maybe just as good as the D300.'
Photoreview
9/10
9/10
'As well as providing some significant improvements over the EOS 40D, the EOS 50D offers not just a better-built body but a significantly higher level of functionality than its parallel consumer model, the EOS 450D. The new camera also provides some real competition for Nikon's recently-released D90. Offering many of the same professional features as the EOS 1D series of cameras, it is competitively priced for its marketplace slot.'
Fredmiranda.com
9.1/10
'I upgraded to the 50D from the 20D so it was a great upgrade. Can't really fault this camera. Excellent build quality and image quality. I use it with 24-70, 70-200 and 100-400 and the results are simply excellent. I shot everything from family pics, portraits, candids, wildlife/birds,weddings, macro etc etc and this camera more than meets my needs and then some. I have resisted the temptation to upgrade to 7D/5D etc as this is still a great camera, sure the 7D focus system would be good or the improved high iso of a full frame sensor but the 50D is still a really solid camera. Highly recommended. '
Dxomark
63/100


Canon 1000D / Rebel XS

Image quality rating: 80,67%

Overall rating: 78,00%

Main points:
  • Small and light
  • No spot metering


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
ePhotozine
4.5/5
3.5/5
'he great performance results I achieved from the camera coupled with Canon's notorious ease of use means the EOS 1000D is perfect for its target audience.'
Camera Labs
18/20
16/20
'Canon’s new EOS 1000D / Rebel XS represents a modest upgrade over its predecessor and in some feature respects an actual downgrade. But Canon knows new entry-level DSLR buyers highly value the presence of Image Stabilisation and Live View, both of which are now crucially offered here. And unlike arch rivals Nikon and Sony, it also means Canon now offers both Live View and stabilisation on all its consumer DSLRs.'
Dxomark
62/100


Canon 7D

Image quality rating: 80,57%

Overall rating: 89,80%

Main points:
  • Bright, large optical viewfinder with 100% viewfinder 
  • Fast autofocus and with 8 frames per second


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Camera Stuff Review
7/10
'Why would you choose a Canon 7D instead of a Canon 60D or a Canon 5D MK2? The Canon 7D is in many respects almost equivalent to the Canon 5D MK2, but offers more modern video capabilities, while the price is much lower. The crop factor of 1.6 and the rapid image processing makes the Canon 7D more suitable for sports and wildlife photographers than the Canon 5D MK2. The Canon 5D MK2 has nicer bokeh and a higher resolution in the RAW files.'
ePhotozine
4.5/5
4.5/5
'It is a £1700 DSLR so you would be perfectly entitled to expect a great deal for your money. The good news, in the most part, is that you get it. This is a classy feature-rich DSLR that has a reassuringly robust body so should easily withstand even severe knocks and bumps. '
Photozone
4/5
4.5/5
'That all said the EOS 7D is the most sophisticated and best APS-C DSLR tested to date and consequently it does qualify for our highest praise - highly recommended! '
Photoreview
8/10
8.8/10
'You want a capable DSLR camera with a 1.6x crop factor sensor for wildlife photography with telephoto lenses.'
Camera Labs
18/20
18/20
'Canon’s EOS 7D is a direct response to Nikon’s D300s. The company has taken a good long look at the areas where Nikon always had the edge over models like the EOS 40D and 50D, and addressed almost all of them here. No longer can Nikon claim a bigger viewfinder, faster continuous shooting, colour-based metering, on-demand viewfinder graphics, wireless flash control or superior AF as reasons to go for its model over its closest rival.  '
Fredmiranda.com
9.1/10
'I got the 7D as an upgrade to my 50D (which I still use as well) and was amazed at the speed and accuracy. The only problem I had was my images initially seemed soft. I took a lot of photos and did a lot of reading and eventually began to get results. after the most recent firmware update I noted how much of an improvement there seemed to be noise wise. I have passed this camera onto my husband as I mainly use my 5DII but I would not hesitate to recommend it to those needing feed and accuracy, great for sports'
Dxomark
66/100
Amateur Photographers
88/100
'Nikon’s enthusiasm for putting the same (or similar) technology in top-level and mid-range DSLRs has rather emphasised the gap between Canon’s professional-level EOS-1D series and its semi-professional and enthusiast-level cameras. The EOS 7D closes that gap a little and raises questions about the positioning of the EOS 5D Mark II, which looks a little dated in comparison. '


Canon 1D Mark IV

Image quality rating: 80,00%

Overall rating: 93,00%

Main points:
  • The thing is built like a tank
  • It's a bit heavy


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Fredmiranda.com
9.3/10
'I currently own both the 1d4 and the 5D3...the combo is perfect for me.I owned the 1D3 earlier and liked it but was always a little concerned about the AF issues...with the 1D4 I am confident of AF in all situations and the high ISO performance is outstanding!The increase in MP is a positive as well...the 1D4 has all the attributes of the 1 series and is a great versatile tool for photographers needing to be able to shoot sports as well as portraits etc.....since this may well be the last 1.3 crop body canon makes I am glad I got one now....'
Dxomark
74/100
Amateur Photographers
86/100
'In many situations the Canon EOS-1D Mark IV captures superbly detailed images with natural, yet punchy colours. The AF system performs well, even in low light, although it is worth paying for fast lenses that get the best from it. Users also need to spend time experimenting with the system so the right options are selected for each subject and situation.'


Canon 1Ds Mark III

Image quality rating: 80,00%

Overall rating: 94,00%

Main points:
  • Excellent ISO results
  • Not as heavy as MkII


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
ePhotozine
4/5
4.5/5
'It's difficult to know what to say about such a camera. The power beneath your fingers is obvious and my only real complaint is that the screen is not as bright as others. When I first started using it, I thought I was underexposing, but later looking at the images on the computer, I discovered I wasn't.'
Fredmiranda.com
9.6/10
'It's been a delight. This body has good speed and accuracy, but with the IQ of the 5D2 (slightly different and better in some respects). I now think that I'm now ready to sell my 1D3 and stay with two FF bodies. '
Dxomark
80/100


Canon 1100D / Rebel T3

Image quality rating: 79,40%

Overall rating: 84,00%

Main points:
  • Easy to use lightweight
  • Good price to quality ration
  • 12 megapixels, no full HD video


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Camera Stuff Review
7.4/10
'We started this test with the question: “Why you would choose a Canon 1100D?” The answer is clear: the Canon 1100D is an inexpensive, lightweight SLR with an image quality that is almost synonymous with more expensive cameras from the EOS series. Compared with the cameras that enter the market now (early 2012), the Canon 1100D has a limitation with the video specifications: the Canon 1100D has no full-HD. The smooth plastic finish of this camera will not appeal to everyone. If you are used to working with a more expensive Canon EOS camera, you will also miss the direct setting possibilities. But those who are switching from a compact camera to a SLR will probably be less bothered by it. And those who decide to spend some more money on a better lens instead of a more expensive camera body will enjoy the Canon 1100D much in terms of image quality.'
ePhotozine
4.5/5
4/5
'The Canon EOS 1100D delivers great image quality, with excellent noise levels, right upto ISO3200. It's not until ISO6400 that you start seeing noise artefacts, or hot black and white pixels. The colour produced in images is excellent with very rich colours, high levels of saturation and good contrast, sharpness, and tone. The options can be altered, although the default settings are good enough that you shouldn't need to alter this.'
Camera Labs
18/20
17/20
'Canon's EOS Rebel T3 / 1100D is a solid entry-level DSLR which ticks the boxes of most first-time buyers without breaking the bank. By employing numerous parts from previous models, there's no surprises in terms of performance, but the 12 Megapixel sensor with Canon's latest metering system deliver good-looking images, and you also get a decent Live View mode and the opportunity to film 720p HD video, albeit with auto exposures and manual focusing only.'
Dxomark
62/100
Amateur Photographers
81/100
'Three years is a long time to wait and in some respects it is easy to feel a little disappointed with what, on the surface, could be deemed minor improvements. However, many of the changes to the core of Canon’s EOS 1100D have trickled down from old and current-generation, higher level EOS models, such as the imaging sensor, 63-area iFCL metering and nine-point AF system. This is testament to the progress Canon has made during the past three years.'


Canon 60D

Image quality rating: 78,20%

Overall rating: 85,11%

Main points:
  • Dynamic Range
  • No AF micro adjustment


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Better Family Photos
'Now that I finally got this out of my system, it's time to start talking about the 5D Mark III, it is a phenomenal cameras, soul-less (until now, that is) but phenomenal. It is similar to the McLaren MP4-12C, a brilliant car, but reviewers say that it's like a fax machine, no soul, unlike the Ferrari 458 Italia for exapmle, but the 5D Mark II is no 458 Italia, maybe it's an F355. Below are a few more examples taken with the 5D Mark II before it got sold.'
Camera Stuff Review
7/10
'The image quality of the Canon 60D will be more than sufficient for most amateur photographers. Color accuracy at daylight is good, even better than the color accuracy of the Canon 5D MK2. The auto white balance performance at tungsten light leaves (as for many other camera) room for improvement. For those who shoot in RAW, you can improve the whitebalance significantly by correcting the whitebalance afterwards. Noise and dynamic range of the Canon 60D sensor are almost as good as noise and dynamic range of the Canon 5D MK2 sensor. '
ePhotozine
4/5
4/5
'The camera handles well, and I really like the new simplified control layout. This should make the transition for upgraders from Canon's entry level models much less painful. Unfortunately the change to SD cards and the LP-E6 battery may disappoint those wishing to upgrade from older Canon models such as the EOS 30D or EOS 40D, but then you can't have everything, can you?'
Photoreview
8.5/10
8.8/10
'You want a capable DSLR camera with a 1.6x crop factor sensor and the ability to use a wide range of lenses.'
Camera Labs
18/20
17/20
'There's two ways of looking at the EOS 60D. First is as Canon's new mid-range DSLR, in which case it sits perfectly between the existing EOS 550D / T2i and EOS 7D. It offers a number of benefits to differentiate itself from entry-level models without stepping on the toes of true semi-pro models. So like the Nikon D90, you get some nice higher-end features without the cost, weight, size or complexity of a semi-pro body. In this regard, the EOS 60D may not be surprising, but delivers exactly what it's supposed to do.'
Fredmiranda.com
8.5/10
'If people stop comparing this as a supposed successor to the 50D and just look at it in comparison to the recent APS-C's of the time (650D, 60D, 7D), it is clear this is a winner. I have had no need for MA but I would of course prefer it on any body I have. I absolutely love the articulated screen, and the large viewfinder not to mention the AF system with 9 cross-type points.'
Dxomark
66/100


Canon 450D / Rebel XSi

Image quality rating: 76,00%

Overall rating: 88,80%

Main points:
  • quite noisy images @ ISO 1600>
  • quite fast and reliable AF
  • light weight and compact but not too dwarfish


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Photozone
3.6/5
3.8/5
'The Canon EOS 450D is an excellent all-round DSLR and much more than a toy as suggested by some Canon ads. It is great DSLR for beginner but also for enthusiasts who are looking for a light-weight DSLR at a very fair price level.'
Photoreview
9.5/10
9/10
'Images from the test camera were sharp and, in the main, colour accurate, although Imatest showed slightly elevated saturation in the red colour band, which was most visible in JPEG shots (see the sample close-up image below for an example). However, other colours were very close to spot-on. Autofocusing was generally fast and accurate, with little 'hunting' in dim lighting.'
Fredmiranda.com
9.4/10
'A great little camera. Very light. Fast autofocus. Cheap price. Perfect amatuer/pro back up camera if you dont need video'
Dxomark
61/100


Canon 500D / Rebel T1i

Image quality rating: 74,67%

Overall rating: 86,40%

Main points:
  • quite noisy images @ ISO 1600
  • efficient dust reduction system
  • quite fast and reliable AF (even in low light)


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Photozone
3.8/5
3.8/5
'Nevertheless, the EOS 500D is another recommendable masterpiece from Canon. However, Canon EOS 450D users don't really need to upgrade unless there's a critical need for the movie mode functionality.'
Photoreview
8.5/10
8.5/10
'You're looking for a small, light DSLR camera that can record HD video clips. '
Fredmiranda.com
9.3/10
'I really like this camera, although the video option is a bit of a rip-off, this is essentially a 50D without gapless microlenses and superior build quality. For the price it is absolutely unbeatable. At 15.1 mpix, the high ISO performance is actually quite good, useable until ISO 3200.'
Dxomark
63/100


Canon 1Ds Mark II

Image quality rating: 74,00%

Overall rating: 97,00%

Main points:
  • 16.7 mega pixels still holds it own
  • Small LCD


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Fredmiranda.com
9.7/10
'I bought this as a back-up body. After using it a bit I started including it as a primary body depending on the shoot. The 70-200 v2 pretty much lives on this body and the combination can't be beat. It goes on all wedding jobs and portrait work. It holds it's own well against the much newer 5D2 on bread and butter jobs.'
Dxomark
74/100


Canon 1D Mark III

Image quality rating: 71,00%

Overall rating: 93,00%

Main points:
  • Fast accurate focusing
  • It's only 10mp


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Fredmiranda.com
9.3/10
'I've owned two Mark III's I regrettably sold the first for a MarkIV which I ended up selling and I bought another used mark III.'
Dxomark
71/100


Canon 1D Mark II

Image quality rating: 66,00%

Overall rating: 94,00%

Main points:
  • Built like a brick
  • ISO 50


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Fredmiranda.com
9.4/10
'After owning 10D thru 40D, 5D and 1D the 1D Mark II is by far my favorite. It fills my needs for my style of photography, I have invested in L lenses so I am more concerned with quality from glass, love the file sizes and can take RAW very well. Best bang for your buck as far as cameras go. I even prefer it to my old 5D, I will use it till it dies. I love this camera, nuff said.'
Dxomark
66/100


Canon 1D Mark II N

Image quality rating: 66,00%

Overall rating: 95,00%

Main points:
  • Not very good in low light
  • Built like a tank


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Fredmiranda.com
9.5/10
'After 4 years of frustration with Canon’s AF system on the pro-consumer line of DSLR I decided to buy an EOS-1D series body. I got the 1D2N for under $1000 and when I first held it in my hand I knew I was holding something special and there’s no going back to the pro-consumer bodies.'
Dxomark
66/100


Canon 40D

Image quality rating: 64,00%

Overall rating: 92,00%

Main points:
  • Limited focus points
  • No movie mode
  • Dust reduction system


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Fredmiranda.com
9.2/10
'For most folks, professionals included, this could be your one and only camera forever. It's missing nothing important. It's fast enough to get out of your way. It has enough resolution for giant prints. And you can get it now, in 2012, for $300. Incredible.'
Dxomark
64/100


Canon 20D

Image quality rating: 62,00%

Overall rating: 92,00%

Main points:
  • Small lcd screen
  • Very solid build


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Fredmiranda.com
9.2/10
'This is a great camera, It takes very sharp images with good quality lens. (even the newer 18-55 IS kit lens makes very nice pics with this camera). '
Dxomark
62/100


Canon 400D / Digital Rebel XTi

Image quality rating: 62,00%

Overall rating: 88,00%

Main points:
  • Lightweight
  • No spot-metering
  • Poor ISO performance


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Fredmiranda.com
8.8/10
'I've used this for a couple years and it is an excellent little camera, both for beginners and more advanced users. As other reviewers have said, have some realistic expectations if you're moving up from a point-and-shoot-- any DSLR is significantly different from a P&S. There is a learning curve, and there are no magic camera pixies who make every photo perfect. The photographer is more important than the camera. Study the manual, learn the fundamental photography skills, learn how to use digital editing software, and you'll get great photos with this camera.'
Dxomark
62/100


Canon 350D /Digital Rebel XT

Image quality rating: 60,00%

Overall rating: 88,00%

Main points:
  • Poor iso performance
  • ISO 100-400 are fantastic
  • AF not always reliable


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Fredmiranda.com
8.8/10
'A great little camera, especially at current prices. It is missing a lot of features of newer models, but it still will take great photos and is an excellent camera for anyone starting in photography!'
Dxomark
60/100


Canon 30D

Image quality rating: 59,00%

Overall rating: 94,00%

Main points:
  • No live view or sensor cleaning.
  • Autofocus is fast and accurate


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Fredmiranda.com
9.4/10
'I have been shooting with my 30D since September 2006. It was my first digital SLR; prior to that I was shooting Olympus point and shoot digital, and Contax/Yashica 35mm film. The 30D is a wonderful digital SLR. I have really enjoyed the weight and balance of this camera. The ergonomics of the camera fit me perfectly. The image quality is superb and the handling of the different camera and lens combinations are phenomenal. I only shoot with the center AF point selected, and autofocus has been fast and accurate.'
Dxomark
59/100


Canon 10D

Image quality rating: 57,00%

Overall rating: 88,00%

Main points:
  • Slow to startup
  • Light weight


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Fredmiranda.com
8.8/10
'After spending some time with Canon's Rebel XTi, I purchased a second hand 10D for nearly free. It was put to use doing product shots. The convenient thumb wheel made it a better camera for full manual use and the smaller file sizes, compared to my 400d, were just fine for the work I was doing. '
Dxomark
57/100


Canon 300D

Image quality rating: 55,00%

Overall rating: 88,00%

Main points:
  • Slow to start
  • Noise at higher ISO


Test/reviewerOpticsOverallQuote
Fredmiranda.com
8.8/10
'Its still a good value for money camera , and it makes wonderfull pics , adequate for most users even today ,its silver and therefore cool ; pair it with a 35 mm f2 or a cheap 50 mm f1,8 and youll get chokked how good it performs !'
Dxomark
55/100


Post a Comment